Blogtember Day 4: September 6th

Standard

A story about a time you were very afraid…

 

Although I’m sure there are many, many times when I’ve felt very afraid, one time in particular from my childhood pops nto my mind right away.

 

1.  When I was about eight or nine years old, I was running around my best friend’s neighborhood with her and a neighborhood friend.  The friend (a little boy) was a bit more mischievous than I, however he somehow convinced us that it would be funny to throw small pebbles/rocks from a distance at a parked truck a few houses away.  He said those neighbors were away on vacation and for whatever reason, this sounded like a great time.  The funny thing is, I was naturally a shy, introverted child who never did things like that, especially destructive things, but I went along with it this time anyway.  After tossing the rocks for a few minutes and laughing about them bouncing off the truck, a sedan came barreling around the corner of the neighborhood and screeched up beside the three of us.  I took off running across lawns in the opposite direction, leaving my super cool mini backpack behind, and so did the friend, but my best friend tried to hide behind a bush.  This middle aged man jumped out of the car yelling at us about throwing rocks (mind you, I don’t know who the man was and don’t believe he lived there), and tried to grab my friend.  She finally got away, and he loaded up our bags in his car and took off.  We burst into her parents house and told them what was happening, and eventually her parents came outside with us and found the man in the car and explained the situation.  My memory fails me as to why he did what he did, but either way I remember being completely frightened, felt horrible for giving in to pressure to throw the rocks, and also completely weirded out that he reached for my eight year old girl friend.  That memory sticks with me after all these years as being so scary!

 

Moral of the story:  Creepers are everywhere…and respect other people’s property.  Lesson learned!



One response »

Let's hear your thoughts!

