5 Things

Standard

Happy Friday Everyone 🙂

I am VERY excited that the weekend is here…I just feel emotionally spent this week.  Things on tap for the weekend:

  • Tonight:  Dinner & a movie night with my love and some family
  • Tomorrow:  4 mile walk with pops, Dunkin’ coconut iced coffee (yess this is on my list of very exciting weekend things!), and dinner out at a fun restaurant with another couple!
  • Sunday:  Superbowl….duh. I’m not a huge football fan, but I did participate in my first fantasy draft this year and really enjoyed it!  I’m making these to bring to my family’s, which is where I’ll be watching the Superbowl (and more importantly, eating and checking out the commercials!).  The FH (future husband) will be at the sports bar where’s he’s been for the last 3 weeks, as the Giants are HIS team; we are from New York after all!

I saw Chelsea do a 5 Things February post on what’s in her makeup/hair bag, and I thought it was a great idea!  Sadly, I did not take a picture, so we’ll just have to pretend.

5 Hair and Makeup Essentials (in no particular order)

1.  Covergirl Lashblast mascara (the orange container)….this stuff is awesome!  It look me a long time and a lot of mascara to find one that’s just perfect.  Well, maybe not perfect as it could stand to make my lashes a tiny bit longer along with that fullness, but hey for $7, it gets the job done!  Full lashes, here I come!

2.  Covergirl Tru Blend Foundation.  Like mascara, I have tried a lot of foundation in my day and I’ll admit it was always Covergirl.  I am a Covergirl fiend.  However, one the Tru Blend line came out when I was in college, I fell in love.  Once you find the right shade for you, it definitely blends nicely and covers up those blemishes.  Follow this up with the Tru Blend pressed powder, and you’re all set.

3.  Suave Hairspray.  I am a simple girl when it comes to hairspray, and this one has never steered me wrong in the ten (what!?) years I’ve used it.  Sure, the bottle has changed a few times, but the formula is great.  I usually use an “8” which is not quite maximum hold, but certainly does the job.  It’s never sticky, crunchy, or anything else hair just shouldn’t be.  Thumbs up Suave, thumbs up.

4.  Elf Eyeshadow–Naked Palette.  I can’t rave about this one enough.  This is actually a new product to me (I got it for Christmas), but I already wish I had started using Elf products a lot sooner.  I usually stick to Covergirl eyeshadow (surprise, surprise), but the naked palette is perfect for me, and goes on (and stays on!) so nicely.  I tend to go toward brown and golden shadows, and this literally will not melt/flake/peel/come off my face after an eight hour work day.  It’s lovely!  I believe Elf products are sold at Target and are hella cheap.

5.  Cetaphil Face Wash.  Although I usually use the store’s generic version of this face wash (sorry Cetaphil, lower your prices), they deserve some kudos for coming up with this.  Although the look of the face wash itself can be a be a bit off putting (hehe), it works great.  I have VERY sensitive, acne-prone skin and this is the ONLY, I repeat ONLY face wash I can use that will not make me break out or flake.  Neutrogena has a great line of products too that are helpful for acne-prone skin, but they can be incredibly drying, and in the winter months that’s just not okay.  Cetaphil is very moisturizing, and I’ve even been known to rub some into dry areas on my face in the wintertime…instant moisture!  It is also great to use to take off eye makeup if you aren’t into using eye makeup remover everyday, which I am not.  I use this product every day and I can’t recommend it enough if you have sensitive and/or dry skin.

 

There are a few more honorable mentions, but I’ll save that for another day.  Happy weekend friends!

 

 

 

None of these companies gave me any products to review or compensation for mentioning them.  I just simply love them!  If any of these companies wanted to send me products to review however, I would not be totally opposed 😉

Let's hear your thoughts!

